skip to Main Content
Download our current What's On Brochure | fortyfivedownstairs gallery/office hours: Tues – Fri 11am – 5pm, Sat 11am – 3pm

fortyfivedownstairs and Future Leaders have presented an annual Emerging Artist Award since 2015. The award brings together the best emerging artists from across Australia for a two-week exhibition in the iconic fortyfivedownstairs gallery.

fortyfivedownstairs and Future Leaders are excited to announce the fourth annual Emerging Artist Award 2018.

Featuring a dynamic and diverse selection of ground-breaking new works, the Emerging Artist Award 2018 brings together the best emerging artists from across Australia for a two-week exhibition in the iconic fortyfivedownstairs gallery.

Special guest judge Julie McLaren, curator at the Art Gallery of Ballarat, will award $3000 prize money to the two submissions that best align with the award criteria.

With a growing community of fortyfivedownstairs Emerging Artist Award alumni experiencing industry success, the EAA18 is a proven catalyst for ongoing recognition and professional development and allows audiences the privilege of accessing early-career works by exciting young artists.


Emerging Artist Award 2017

Exhibition dates: 13-24 June 2017

Award Finalists:
Anatol Pitt, Celeste Magee, Claire Raimondo, Ella Rose Dunn, Fraser Pollock, Georgia Banks, Henry Curchod, Jess Gannaway, Jessica Kease, Joshua Hattam, Kasper Raglus, Kate McColl, Katherine Gailer, Katie Ryan, Lia Vassiliadis, Lily O’Connell, Liz Gridley, Lucy Le Masurier, Matthew Clarke, Myles Young, Natalia Berlizova, Philadelphia Hanson-Viney, Rolando Garay-Matziaris, Timothy Greaves

The Emerging Artist Award 2017 was supported by Creative Partnerships Australia through Plus1 and the Hart Line Fund.


Emerging Artist Award 2016 logo, design by Zac Fay Design

Exhibition dates: 21 June to 2 July 2016
Judge: Associate Professor Alison Inglis
Award Finalists:

Annabelle Aronica, Matthew Clarke, Sarah Coghlan, Daniel Emmerig, Ebony Fink, Camila Galaz, Liam Herne, Natalie Mather, Anna McDermott, Kari McInneny-McRae, Hayley Millar, Michael Simms, Merryn Sommerville, Louise Tate, Shaun Thatcher, Elena Valimberti and Jason Willers.

The Emerging Artist Award 2016 was presented with support from the Hartline Foundation.


Exhibition dates: 23 June – 11 July 2015
Judge: Ron Ramsey
First Prize: Prue Stevenson
Second Prize: Glen Clancey

Award Finalists:

Abigail Humphreys, Aimee Thannhauser, Andrew Duong, Anne Forwood, Ashlee Ko, Celeste Magee, Domenica Vavala, Ester Poyas, Glen Clancey, Imogen Kotsoglo, Isabelle de Kleine, Jason Willers, Kristy Nardella, Larissa MacFarlane, Louis Slamowicz, Lynne Makings, Magdalena Dmowska, Matto Lucas, Prue Stevenson, Rachel Tai, Shannon Hansen, Shelley Jardine, Stephen Christie

Back To Top
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!