skip to Main Content
Download our current What's On Brochure | fortyfivedownstairs gallery/office hours: Tues – Fri 11am – 5pm, Sat 11am – 3pm


Press, Play invite you on an impassioned musical and visual journey as words, sounds, and images collide and coalesce. Led by critically-acclaimed pianist Sonya Lifschitz, contemporary ensemble Press, Play takes the sensuous splendor of Monteverdi’s madrigals as a departure point to create Variations – an inspired musical journey in time from the sumptuous beauty of High Renaissance, via the liturgical purity of Baroque, to the unpredictable whimsy of modernity.

Featuring Sonya Lifschitz (piano), Laila Engle (flute), Callum Moncrief (percussion), Alexandra Sherman (mezzo soprano) and Tabatha McFadyen (soprano).


SAARIAHO / Si Dolce è il Tormento
MONTEVERDI (ARR. P. SARCICH) / Si Dolce è il Tormento
CRUMB / Little Suite for Christmas (selections)
MONTEVERDI (ARR. SARCICH) / Lamento d’Arianna
BACH (ARR. J. BRAHMS and E. MORENO) / Chaconne in D minor
MONTEVERDI (ARR. T. MUNRO) / Lamento della Ninfa
SCELSI / Hyxos
MONTEVERDI (ARR. P. SARCICH) / Pur ti Miro, Pur ti Godo (from L’incoronazione di Poppea)

Back To Top
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!