skip to Main Content
Download our current What's On Brochure | fortyfivedownstairs gallery/office hours: Tues – Fri 11am – 5pm, Sat 11am – 3pm

Stillness & Movement

A piano recital with electronic destruction

Matt Brown helps Peter Dumsday portray feelings of stillness and movement in piano music across the centuries. From familiar piano repertoire classics, through a handful of pieces by 20th Century master György Ligeti, to at least one world premiere, none will be safe from Brown’s electronic extensions and modifications.

Apart from the obvious (slow music for stillness, fast music for movement) some surprising effects take shape, and at times extreme calm and agitated dancing impulses coexist. Sometimes the piano’s sounds seem to mysteriously “move” around the performance space…

Program includes:
Rachmaninoff selection from Preludes Op. 32
Beethoven “Moonlight” Sonata
+ music by Ligeti and Michael Kieran Harvey

Image:Beck Stuart

Back To Top
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!